Dogs 101 & Cats 101 Videos Vs. Maddie, Mirya, & Molly

So I thought it would be fun to compare my observations with my pets to what Animal Planet says about them! I have 3 pets: a shiba inu, a westie, and a short hair domestic cat. Some of the videos  did a good job describing the breeds, but I feel like parts of some were way off!

SHIBA INU

What I agree with

  • Independent nature
  • Loyal
  • Loving
  • Has a wild appearance
  • Cat-like
  • Quiet
  • Adaptable to any environment
  • Not the best for beginner pet parents

Agree on but not fully (somewhere in the middle)

  • Training: I feel like shiba inus are a little more harder to train than other dogs, but not to the point that the video says. She learned how to sit only after a couple of times.

 West Highland White Terriors

What I agree with

  • Strong tails (although I never plan to test out their theory)
  • Not a fan of little critters and loves chasing after them (squirrels, chipmunks)
  • Good cold weather dog
  • Good with family

What I disagree with

  • NOT a Lap dog! That is so untrue! Maddie is a big time lap dog! She is always taking a nap on someones lap. My family (my immediate family, my grandparents, my aunt and uncle, few family friends) has had a ton of westies and I have never met a non-lap dog westie!
  • A lot to handle! Maddie is not a lot of handle! Either have been my family’s westies.

Domestic Short Hair Tabby

What I agree with

  • Good night vision
  • Varied personality
  • Independent
  • Generally healthy and only needing routine healthcare
  • Long maintenance
  • Good family pet

So that concludes this post! Comment and let me know what you thought! Are you intrigued by any of the breeds that I discussed today?!?

signature

 

 

Leave a Reply

